Skip to content
0% Interest up to 24 Months on Every Purchase - Click to Apply Now!
0% Interest up to 24 Months

Johnny Cash The Essential Johnny Cash

by Records
Sold out
Original price $37.98 - Original price $37.98
Original price
$37.98 - $37.98
Current price $37.98

Personnel includes: Johnny Cash, Bob Dylan, Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Waylon Jennings, Marty Robbins, The Carter Family, June Carter Cash, U2. Producers include: Sam Phillips, Jack Clement, Don Law, Frank Jones, Bob Johnston. Compilation producers: Nick Shaffran, Nedra Olds-Neal. Recorded between May 1955 and May 1993. All tracks have been digitally remastered. In the past, if you wanted a Johnny Cash compilation, you were basically confined by licensing issues, as Cash's seminal Sun recordings weren't generally available in the same place as his more eclectic Columbia output. THE ESSENTIAL JOHNNY CASH solves that problem, tying together the various eras of Cash's career on a generous 35-track, two-disc set. Accordingly, this anthology is damn near definitive. From the raw, sparse rockabilly flavor of "Hey Porter" and "Get Rhythm" to the gospel roots of "Where You There (When They Crucified My Lord," the first disc moves neatly through Cash's early career. Disc two documents Cash's expansion into ever more varied stylistic avenues. Countrified covers of Bob Dylan ("It Ain't Me Babe") and Tim Hardin ("If I Were a Carpenter") exemplify his fascination with folk-rock. The socially conscious "Man in Black" and the patriotic "Ragged Old Flag" perfectly display the ostensibly conflicting sides of this complex artist's sensibilities. Album-closer "The Wanderer" finds Cash collaborating with U2, filling his role as icon to a whole new generation of artists.


  • Hey Porter
  • Don't Take Your Guns to Town
  • Five Feet High and Rising
  • Rebel: Johnny Yuma [Album Version], The
  • Tennessee Flat-Top Box [Album Version]
  • I Still Miss Someone [Album Version]
  • Ring of Fire
  • Cry, Cry, Cry
  • I Walk the Line
  • Get Rhythm
  • There You Go
  • Ballad of a Teenage Queen [Mono]
  • Big River [Mono]
  • Guess Things Happen That Way [Mono]
  • All Over Again


  • Ballad of Ira Hayes, The
  • If I Were a Carpenter [Live in Denmark] - (live)
  • Sunday Morning Coming Down [Album Version]
  • Man in Black
  • One Piece at a Time
  • Orange Blossom Special
  • It Ain't Me, Babe [Album Version]
  • One on the Right Is on the Left, The
  • Jackson [Album Version]
  • Folsom Prison Blues [Live] - (live)
  • Daddy Sang Bass
  • Girl from the North Country
  • Boy Named Sue [Live], A - (live)